After a Three-Year Hiatus

boredKonata

As anyone can see, I haven’t posted in this anime blog in three years. I really thought that I would continue my posts more often, but a lot of things happened to me in that period of time.

So to clear things up: I will post some new reviews this week.

People are probably wondering why I haven’t updated this in so long. To be honest, I was focusing on my freelance writing career in the beginning. Then I sidetracked myself by writing video game blogs for Bitmob and VentureBeat. Then I decided to work on an associate’s degree in computer information systems, because I had a tough time finding a stable job.

The last few years felt rough. On top of that, I didn’t want to review anime at the time for a few reasons. First of all, I didn’t earn enough money to pay for an online video subscription. Most of my first jobs hardly provided any money for me, so I didn’t have the nerve to plunk down money just to watch anime.

Second, anime simply wasn’t as widely available three years ago. As far as I know, the only streaming service for anime shows at the time was crunchyroll.com. Hulu and Netflix hardly paid attention to such shows. The websites gradually built their library up, though. Now there are plenty of shows available, new and old.

I can finally review the shows that I want to watch. The anime industry has changed a lot over the years though.

moeLive

For starters, moe is now a more widely-accepted style of anime. Kyoto Animation built an entire empire on shows such as The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya and Lucky Star. Although the hype for these cute characters has faded somewhat, there are still hints of moe around in various action and romantic comedy shows.

DVD prices have also skyrocketed. Many of the new shows are now in season boxes. Some publishing companies have kept their box prices low, while others have raised them to astronomically high prices. Most of these pricing changes have taken place, because most of the fans now prefer to watch shows on cheaper Internet streaming services. Now the price of DVDs is more or less based on the popularity and the rarity of the series.

Aside from this, anime is growing more popular than ever. I guess the Internet has forever changed how we watch anime. Even the underground fans have scrounged around the illegal websites for rare, uncensored shows from the old days. Believe me–if it exists, someone is streaming it.

So look forward to a few reviews from Anime Epicuriosity. This time, you won’t be disappointed.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “After a Three-Year Hiatus

  1. I tilted myself that will where I’d been leaning just a bit away from
    the part, enough to kick advertising as hard as I could possibly.
    You’re allowed to celebrate a job promotion, a marriage, or the birth
    of a child, but it’s supposed to be done with class and style.
    They understood the unique act of making two Fathers Day cards, or having different names for each of your dads.

Leave a Reply

